Skip to content

Modal data terms: training, retention, opt-out

Serverless GPU compute, Inference · 3 pages watched · no change seen

What the terms say

Question, answer and clause
Does it train on API and business data?No, unless you consent(Protective)
“Modal will not, except with Customer's prior written consent: (i) train any AI model using Customer Data...”

Terms of Service On the page Sep 25, 2026

Does it train on consumer app data?Not stated on the watched pages.
How long are API inputs kept?Deleted within 7 days(Depends)
“Both are deleted within a maximum TTL of 7 days.”

Security and privacy at Modal On the page Sep 25, 2026

How do you opt out of training?Not stated on the watched pages.
Is zero data retention available?ZDR on Inference endpoints(Protective)
“Modal Inference endpoints are zero data retention: request and response payloads are never written to disk...”

Security and privacy at Modal On the page Sep 25, 2026

Is there a public subprocessor list?Published list(Protective)
“Subcontractors that process Customer Data to provide AI Tools are identified on Modal's Subprocessor list, as further described in the Data Processing Addendum.”

Terms of Service On the page Sep 25, 2026

Where is data processed and stored?Choose container region(Protective)
“To run your Modal Function containers in a specific region, pass a region= argument to the function decorator...”

Region selection On the page Sep 25, 2026

Changes

No change seen on Modal's watched pages yet. How pages are watched

Watched pages

PageChanged
Region selectionmodal.comNo change seen
Security and privacy at Modalmodal.comNo change seen
Terms of Servicemodal.comNo change seen
About Modal

Modal (Serverless GPU compute, Inference). Answers quote Modal's own public pages; a contract, order form or data processing addendum can say more. Company facts live on companies.fru.dev.

Terms changes by email

Mondays, only in weeks when a watched page changed.

Double opt-in. Unsubscribe any time.