Microsoft data terms: training, retention, opt-out
Azure OpenAI in Foundry · 2 pages watched · last change Sep 24, 2026
What the terms say
| Question, answer and clauseAnswer and clause | |
|---|---|
| Does it train on API and business data? | Does it train on API and business data?No(Protective)“are NOT used to train any generative AI foundation models without your permission or instruction.” Data, privacy, and security for Models sold by Azure On the page Sep 24, 2026 |
| Does it train on consumer app data? | Does it train on consumer app data?Not stated on the watched pages. |
| How long are API inputs kept? | How long are API inputs kept?Abuse review store, can be waived(Depends)“If the customer has been approved for modified abuse monitoring (learn more at Abuse Monitoring )), the data storage and human review process described above is not performed.” Data, privacy, and security for Models sold by Azure On the page Sep 24, 2026 |
| How do you opt out of training? | How do you opt out of training?Not stated on the watched pages. |
| Is zero data retention available? | Is zero data retention available?Modified abuse monitoring on approval(Depends)“As depicted in the diagram above, managed customers may apply to modify abuse monitoring .” Data, privacy, and security for Models sold by Azure On the page Sep 24, 2026 |
| Is there a public subprocessor list? | Is there a public subprocessor list?Not stated on the watched pages. |
| Where is data processed and stored? | Where is data processed and stored?Customer-specified geography(Protective)“Prompts and responses are processed within the customer-specified geography (unless you are using a Global or DataZone deployment type), but may be processed between regions within the geography for operational purposes (including performance and capacity management).” Data, privacy, and security for Models sold by Azure On the page Sep 24, 2026 |
Changes
| Change | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 24, 2026 | Data, privacy, and security for Models sold by AzureNon-English translations are provided for convenience only. Please consult the EN-US version of this document for the definitive version.Sep 24, 2026 · +45 / -37 paragraphs | +45 / -37 | View |
| May 3, 2025Archive | Data, privacy, and security for Models sold by AzureBatch processing . Learn more about how batch processing works . Batch processing is a Global deployment type; data stored at rest remains in the designated Azure geography until processing capacity becomes available; processing may occur iMay 3, 2025 (archive) · +1 / -1 paragraphs | +1 / -1 | View |
| Mar 6, 2025Archive | Data, privacy, and security for Models sold by AzureStored completions (preview) . Stored completions stores input-output pairs from the customer's deployed Azure OpenAI models such as GPT-4o through the chat completions API and displays the pairs in the Azure AI Foundry portal . This allowsMar 6, 2025 (archive) · +1 / -1 paragraphs | +1 / -1 | View |
| Jan 1, 2025Archive | Data, privacy, and security for Models sold by AzureData for stateful entities . When you use certain optional features of Azure OpenAI service, such as the Threads feature of the Assistants API and Stored completions, the service will create a data store to persist message history and otherJan 1, 2025 (archive) · +13 / -10 paragraphs | +13 / -10 | View |
| Sep 17, 2024Archive | Data, privacy, and security for Models sold by AzureThis article provides details regarding how data provided by you to the Azure OpenAI service is processed, used, and stored. Azure OpenAI stores and processes data to provide the service and to monitor for uses that violate the applicable pSep 17, 2024 (archive) · +30 / -22 paragraphs | +30 / -22 | View |
| May 13, 2024Archive | Data, privacy, and security for Models sold by AzureModels (base or fine-tuned) deployed in your resource process your input prompts and generate responses with text, images or embeddings. Prompts and responses are processed within the customer-specified geography , but may be processed betwMay 13, 2024 (archive) · +1 / -1 paragraphs | +1 / -1 | View |
Watched pages
| Page | Changed | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Data, privacy, and security for Models sold by Azurelearn.microsoft.com | Documentation | Sep 24, 20266 recorded | Todaylive page |
| Privacy at Microsoftmicrosoft.com | Privacy policy | No change seen | Todaylive page |
About Microsoft
Microsoft (Azure OpenAI in Foundry). Answers quote Microsoft's own public pages; a contract, order form or data processing addendum can say more. Company facts live on companies.fru.dev.
Compliance: certifications · Companies: Company profile · Acquisitions · awards · blogs · Certifications: 26 certification exams · Earnings: MSFT earnings calendar · Free: 3 free offers · Downtime: Status history · Keynotes: Named in keynotes · Leaders: 21 leadership moves · Arena: 6 ranked models · marketplaces: Runs Microsoft Marketplace · papers · Partnerships: 4 partnerships · Paydays: Paid semimonthly · predictions · Pricing: Cloud platform · 54 models · Quotes: 43 quotes · Regions: Azure · Cloud · Regions: Azure OpenAI · AI platform · Releases: 101 releases · Uptime: 5 services · Stories: 3 customer stories · Events: 21 conferences · Training: 13 official courses · Trending: Trending 11 days