Skip to content

GitLab data terms: training, retention, opt-out

GitLab Duo, GitLab.com · 2 pages watched · no change seen

Certifications

What the terms say

Question, answer and clause
Does it train on API and business data?No, never trains(Protective)
“All GitLab AI model sub-processors are restricted from using model input and output to train models...”

GitLab Duo data usage On the page Sep 25, 2026

Does it train on consumer app data?Not stated on the watched pages.
How long are API inputs kept?Chat history kept until deleted(Depends)
“GitLab Duo Chat and GitLab Duo Agent Platform retain chat and workflow history to help you return quickly to previously discussed topics...”

GitLab Duo data usage On the page Sep 25, 2026

How do you opt out of training?Not stated on the watched pages.
Is zero data retention available?ZDR, some models excluded(Depends)
“Certain Anthropic and OpenAI models, including when hosted on Amazon Bedrock and Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform, are subject to limited vendor-side data retention...”

GitLab Duo data usage On the page Sep 25, 2026

Is there a public subprocessor list?Published list(Protective)
“When acting as a processor for Customer, Gitlab may engage the following entities to carry out specific processing activities...”

Sub-processors of GitLab On the page Sep 25, 2026

Where is data processed and stored?Not stated on the watched pages.

Changes

No change seen on GitLab's watched pages yet. How pages are watched

Watched pages

PageChanged
GitLab Duo data usagedocs.gitlab.comNo change seen
Sub-processors of GitLababout.gitlab.comNo change seen
About GitLab

GitLab (GitLab Duo, GitLab.com). Answers quote GitLab's own public pages; a contract, order form or data processing addendum can say more. Company facts live on companies.fru.dev.

Terms changes by email

Mondays, only in weeks when a watched page changed.

Double opt-in. Unsubscribe any time.