GitHub data terms: training, retention, opt-out
GitHub Copilot · 3 pages watched · last change Jul 6, 2026
What the terms say
| Question, answer and clauseAnswer and clause | |
|---|---|
| Does it train on API and business data? | Does it train on API and business data?No(Protective)“GitHub does not use Copilot Business or Copilot Enterprise customer data to train AI models.” Managing Copilot policies as an individual subscriber On the page Sep 24, 2026 |
| Does it train on consumer app data? | Does it train on consumer app data?Yes since April 24, 2026, unless you opt out(Uses your data)“Starting on April 24, 2026, if you have a Copilot Free , Copilot Pro , Copilot Pro+ , or Copilot Max plan, GitHub may use your interactions with GitHub features and services-including inputs, outputs, code snippets, and associated context-to train and improve AI models.” Managing Copilot policies as an individual subscriber On the page Sep 24, 2026 |
| How long are API inputs kept? | How long are API inputs kept?Not stated on the watched pages. |
| How do you opt out of training? | How do you opt out of training?Copilot settings(Protective)“You can opt-out from allowing your data to be used for training in your personal settings for GitHub Copilot.” Managing Copilot policies as an individual subscriber On the page Sep 24, 2026 |
| Is zero data retention available? | Is zero data retention available?Not stated on the watched pages. |
| Is there a public subprocessor list? | Is there a public subprocessor list?Not stated on the watched pages. |
| Where is data processed and stored? | Where is data processed and stored?Not stated on the watched pages. |
Changes
| Change | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 6, 2026Archive | Managing Copilot policies as an individual subscriberCopilot cloud agent is available for all paid Copilot plans.Jul 6, 2026 (archive) · +5 / -3 paragraphs | +5 / -3 | View |
| May 2, 2026Archive | Managing Copilot policies as an individual subscriberIf the organization is owned by an enterprise, enablement may be controlled at the enterprise level. See Enabling GitHub Copilot cloud agent in your enterprise .May 2, 2026 (archive) · +1 / -1 paragraphs | +1 / -1 | View |
| Apr 4, 2026Archive | Managing Copilot policies as an individual subscriberYour personal settings for GitHub Copilot include an option to either allow or block code suggestions that match publicly available code.Apr 4, 2026 (archive) · +20 / -17 paragraphs | +20 / -17 | View |
| Feb 5, 2026Archive | Managing Copilot policies as an individual subscriberThird-party agents are available in the GitHub Copilot Pro+ and GitHub Copilot Enterprise plans.Feb 5, 2026 (archive) · +5 / -2 paragraphs | +5 / -2 | View |
| Oct 2, 2025Archive | Managing Copilot policies as an individual subscriberIn the upper-right corner of any page on GitHub, click your profile picture, then click Copilot settings .Oct 2, 2025 (archive) · +3 / -4 paragraphs | +3 / -4 | View |
Watched pages
| Page | Changed | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Managing Copilot policies as an individual subscriberdocs.github.com | Documentation | Jul 6, 20265 recorded | Todaylive page |
| Privacydocs.github.com | Privacy policy | No change seen | Todaylive page |
| Termsdocs.github.com | Terms | No change seen | Todaylive page |
About GitHub
GitHub (GitHub Copilot). Answers quote GitHub's own public pages; a contract, order form or data processing addendum can say more. Company facts live on companies.fru.dev.
Compliance: certifications · Companies: Company profile · blogs · Certifications: 6 certification exams · Free: 2 free offers · Downtime: 68 incidents in 90 days · Keynotes: Named in keynotes · Leaders: 2 leadership moves · marketplaces: On 1 marketplace · Paydays: Paid semimonthly · Releases: 269 releases · Uptime: 3 services · Trending: Trending 4 days